Off the Menu OC

Covering the dining scene in and around the OC

Daily Grill’s “Simply 600” Menu is Simply Delicious

With nearly two dozen locations in eight states, Daily Grill fans know where to go for their foodie fix. And lately, that fix includes the Simply 600 menu, with no dish over 600 calories.

My editorial assistant, Catherine, and I recently went to the Daily Grill in Irvine near John Wayne Airport to sample the Simply 600 menu.

When we arrived, the restaurant – which has a casual-classy look by day and an upscale-casual ambiance by night – was packed with happy diners.

“This is just what I need after all the fried food we’ve been eating lately,” stated Catherine as she perused the menu.

“You’re right–just reading the description of the dishes makes me feel healthier,” I agreed.

 We decided to start with cocktails, which admittedly are not always low cal. However, we went as healthy as possible. Catherine ordered a Wild Berry Mojito with 10 Cane Rum, freshly squeezed Lime Juice, Mint Leaves and Fresh Berries. I went with a Ruby Red Lemon Drop that had Absolut Ruby Red Vodka with freshly squeezed Grapefruit, Lemon and Lime Juices.

For our food starter, we chose an item off of the regular menu that stuck to our healthy eating mission: Trio of Hummus appetizer ($8.95), which featured Sun-Dried Tomato, Kalamata Olive and Traditional Hummus, served with Grilled Flat Bread and Cucumbers.

“Looks like you’re making a mess with your hummus,” I commented as Catherine combined the various flavors on her plate.

“The sun-dried tomato is sweet, so I’m mixing it with the traditional garlic hummus to make my own unique blend.”

“Hmmm…very tasty,” I said as I mopped up the hummus with a piece of flat bread.

For our 600 calorie entrees, Catherine selected the Chicken Marsala served over Angel Hair Pasta. I had a hard time choosing just one dish because they all sounded so good, but finally went for the Crab Stuffed Salmon with Arugula and Grilled Tomato.

  “I don’t think I have ever tasted anything that’s so juicy and flavorful, and healthy at the same time,” said Catherine. “The chicken tastes buttery and juicy, almost like it was breaded, but it’s not.”

“And I can’t believe the salmon is only 600 calories, especially with the crab stuffing,” I said after a few bites. “I want to come back for the Salmon Burger, and the Blackened Tilapia, and the Herb Chicken Caprese, and–”

“And I’m getting full just listening to you,” laughed Catherine.  “Sounds like we need to come back for lunch…more than once.”

We were indeed getting full, but agreed to share a Key Lime Pie for dessert.

“Eating only half a slice of pie means half the calories,” I noted between bites.

“Yes, but it still means a whole workout at the gym for me tomorrow,” laughed Catherine.

Entrees at Daily Grill are $10 to $30. For more information, call (949) 474-2223, or visit DailyGrill.com.

Thanks for reading!

For more dining adventures, check out Off the Menu OC on Facebook and Twitter!

Christopher Trela

3rd Place Best Food Blog / OC Press Club Journalism Awards

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2012 by in Dining Out, Neighorhood Gem, Restaurant Experience and tagged , , , .
